Energy Institute, The University of Texas at Austin Energy Institute The University of Texas at Austin
Sunday April 20 , 2014
Font Size

University Expert to Help Unveil American Nuclear Society Fukushima Report on One-Year Anniversary

Former NRC Chair Dale Klein Will Explain What Happened & Evaluate Recommendations

Dale Klein, Ph.D., P.E., Associate Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of Texas System and Associate Director of The Energy Institute at the University of Texas at Austin and a leading figure in the nuclear science and technology community, will lead a press conference in Washington, D.C. on March 8 to unveil the American Nuclear Society Special Committee Report on Fukushima.

The American Nuclear Society is the country’s premier scientific organization for the nuclear community, and the report will be unveiled to correspond with the one-year anniversary of the Fukushima Daiichi event.

The report provides a clear and concise explanation of what happened during the Fukushima Daiichi event, and evaluates recommendations based upon lessons learned.

If you would like to schedule a time to speak with Dr. Klein, please contact Fritz Schneider at 301.728.4811.  See details about the event below:


Nation’s Premier Technical Society in Nuclear Community Issues Report for One Year Anniversary of Fukushima

WHAT: Report provides a clear and concise explanation of what happened during the Fukushima Daiichi event and evaluates recommendations based upon lessons learned

WHO: Leading Figures in the Nuclear Science and Technology Community

  • Dale Klein, PhD, former Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Michael L. Corradini, PhD, Vice President/President-Elect, American Nuclear Society
  • Jacopo Buongiorno, PhD, Professor of Nuclear Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Paul Dickman, Senior Policy Fellow with Argonne National Laboratory
  • Hisashi Ninokata, PhD, Professor, Research Laboratory for Nuclear Reactors, Tokyo Institute of Technology,
  • Michael T. Ryan, PhD, Adjunct Faculty member at Vanderbilt University in the Department of Environmental Engineering and the Texas A&M University in the Department of Nuclear Engineering
  • Craig D. Sawyer, PhD, retired, expert in boiling water reactor technology
  • Amir Shahkarami, Chief Executive Officer of Exelon Nuclear Partners and the Senior Vice President of Exelon Generation
  • Akira Tokuhiro, PhD, Professor of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering at the University of Idaho

WHEN: Thursday, March 8, 2012, 9:45 a.m.

WHERE: National Press Club, First Amendment Room, 529 14th St NW, Washington, DC 20045

Topics Include:

  • Risk-Informed Regulation
  • Hazards from Extreme Natural Phenomena
  • Multiple-Unit Site Considerations
  • Hardware Design Modifications
  • Severe Accident Management Guidelines
  • Command and Control During a Reactor Accident
  • Emergency Planning
  • Health Physics
  • Societal Risk Comparison

For more information about the American Nuclear Society, please visit

Established in 1954, ANS is a professional not-for-profit organization of engineers and scientists devoted to the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. Its 11,600 members come from diverse technical backgrounds covering the full range of engineering disciplines as well as the physical and biological sciences.